Baseball Players Moving On

Student Athlete Success

OJC Pitcher

Since the Rattler Baseball program began in 1986, student-athletes involved with the program have seen success both on and off the field. Our program is founded on building character by creating a balance between athletic success and academic achievement. OJC is proud of the many athletes who have worn a Rattler uniform and thank them for their contributions to the program. 


Where are they now?

OJC shortstop picked up in MLB draft

Juandy Mendoza OJC ShortstopJuandy Mendoza, shortstop for the Otero Junior College Rattlers, was drafted by the Toronto Blue Jays in the 2015 MLB Draft. Mendoza, from Miami, Fla., was picked #692 in the 23rd Round by the Blue Jays.

Mendoza is a 2015 graduate of Otero Junior College with an Associate of Arts degree.

Chris Carrillo, head coach of the OJC Rattler Baseball team, stated that he and Assistant Coach Travis Richter, were very excited for Mendoza. “He has worked extremely hard to get to this point and has earned everything he has received. It is a very big opportunity for him and it is awesome for Otero Junior College and the baseball program. Coach Richter and I are very proud of him,” said Carrillo.


OJC student-athletes who moved on to four-year colleges and continued to play baseball.

Graduation Year Student Athlete Location
2018 Matt Sanchez Academy of Art University
2018 Carter Mossey Colorado Christian
2018 Willie Baez Highland University
2018 Tim Galindo Lyons College
2018 Sergio Lucero Highland University
2018 Gaylon Young Highland University
2018 David Tongue South West Baptist University
2018 McCoy Pearse McPherson College
2016 Evan Maecker Holy Names University
2016 Jared Rodriquez Colorado School of Mines
2016 Grant Templin Adams State University
2016 Colton Wardle Colorado School of Mines
2016 Casey Weber Adams State University
2015 Juandy Mendoza Toronto Blue Jays
2015 Jarrett Bott Colorado Mesa University
2015 James Cordova West Texas A&M
2015 Brayden Price West Texas A&M
2015 Jorge Venegas Colorado State University-Pueblo
2015 Sean Halsey Colorado State University-Pueblo
2015 Jarron Monroe Sterling College (KS)
2015 Marvin Ortiz University of Southwest (NM)
2015 Walker Hines University of Southwest (NM)
2015 Steven Bishop New Mexico Highlands University
2015 Tanner Wade Eastern New Mexico University
2014 Devin Fox University of Arkansas Fort Smith
2014 Matt Smith Colorado Mesa University
2014 Landon Merka Tarleton University
2014 Anthony Boyle University of Southwest
2014 Kevin Barnes University of Texas at Permian Basin
2014 Valentin Sanchez Calumet College of St. Joseph
2013 Alex Kitzman Colorado Mesa University
2013 Ian Mcgraw Lipscomb University
2013 Paul Lujan West Texas A&M University
2013 Dustin Conley Colorado Christian University
2013 Nick Morelli Southwest Nazarene University
2013 Rolando Chavarria University of Southwest
2013 Branden Phillips Adams State University
2012 Nerio Barreto Talladega College
2012 Zach Mang Southwestern Oklahoma State University
2012 Drew Wold Adams State University
2012 Matt Chavarria Southern Indiana University
2012 Michael Rosario Lindsey Wilson College (KY)
2012 Dylan James West Texas A&M University
2011 Aaron Sandoval Lipscomb University
2011 Kellen Quintana West Texas A&M University
2011 Christian Lujan University of Nebraska Kearney
2011 Leandro Nunez Perez Lindsey Wilson College (KY)
2011 Jeremy Trujillo CSU-Pueblo
2011 Chris Shine Metro State University
2011 Kyle Clemens CSU-Pueblo
2010 Tyler Keith University of Nebraska Kearney
2010 Kyle Muth University of Northern Colorado
2010 Jeremy Ortiz Mesa State University
2010 Mike Loseke University of Nebraska Kearney
2010 Troy De Los Santos University of New Mexico Highlands
2010 Ryan Urban Mid-America Christian
2010 Luis Martinez Mid-America Christian
2009 Taylor Hamilton Mesa State University
2009 Nick Arapkiles New Mexico State University
2009 GJ Henry University of Nebraska-Kearney
2009 Yancy Birch University of Nebraska-Kearney
2009 Caleb Monteil University of Nebraska-Kearney
2009 Patrick Oliver University of Nebraska-Kearney
2008 Jake Perkins Mesa State
2008 Mike Roberts CSU Fort Collins
2008 Brandon Alvarez Northwestern Oklahoma State University
2008 Tyler Borzileri University of Northern Colorado
2008 Kris Vierra University of Northern Colorado
2008 Dillon Meaney CSU Pueblo
2008 Brandon Buchanan University of Nebraska-Kearney
2008 Dan Markoya Central Connecticut University
2007 Scott Harshman CSU Pueblo
2007 Kevin Cover Southern Illinois
2007 Jordan Hungenberg Dakota Weslyan
2006 Jerry Salazar CSU Pueblo
2006 Wes Sturdevant Dakota Wesleyan
2006 Travis Schlagel Louisiana At Monroe University 
2006 Dusty Dominguez Dakota Wesleyan
2006 Joe Mulroy New Mexico Highlands
2006 Brian Dilley Colorado State University Club Team
2006 Ryan Stuckey York College
2006 Jon Craver CSU Pueblo
2006 Kyle Hogue Mesa State
2006 Jayce Alvarado Dakota Wesleyan
2006 Sam Landis York College
2006 Fred Janssen Dakota Wesleyan
2006 Tyler Hageman Regis University
2006 Josh Quick CSU Pueblo
2005 Anthony Garcia University of Northern Colorado
2005 Adam Weber Henderson State University
2005 Mitch Mirtsching University of NE Kearney
2005 Turreal Moore Utah Valley State
2004 Jaron Sprong Missouri Western State
2004 Jimmy Turk Oral Roberts University
2004 Nick Guadagnoli CSU Pueblo
2004 Steve Naski CSU Pueblo
2004 Justin Williams Utah Valley State
2004 Jeff Williams CSU Pueblo
2004 Tyler Schnorr Mesa State
2004 Eric Maberry Mesa State
2003 Sean Jarrett University of Arizona
2003 Patrick Perry University of Northern Colorado
2003 Gerrald Miller Prairie View A & M Univ.
2003 Sean McKinney Mesa State College
2003 Justin Bishop Metro State College
2002 Marc Buffington George Fox University
2002 Tim Bush Lyons College Arkansas
2002 Chris Carrillo University of Nebraska-Omaha
2002 Joe Dirnberger Mesa State College
2002 Jimmy Farrell Penn State University
2002 Riley Gallu Mesa State College
2002 Richard Iser Regis University
2002 Ernesto Marquez University of Southern Colorado
2002 Adam McCullough University of Nebraska-Omaha
2002 Matt Sutton University Northern Colorado
2001 Ricky Fast University of Nebraska-Kearney
2001 Matt Staffel University of Northern Colorado
2001 Joey Steiner University of Nebraska-Kearney
2001 Jon Wiethoff Austria (Club Ball)
2001 Tony Wittmus University of Southern Colorado
2000 Robbie Carson Metro State University
2000 Eric Cummings Metro State University
2000 Travis Humphrey University of Southern Colorado
2000 Jeremy Hunter University of Nebraska-Kearney
2000 Amadeo Lefebre University of Southern Colorado
2000 Ryan Ortiz Mankato State University
2000 Vontrez Wilson Drafted by the Atlanta Braves
1999 Mike Deulen University of Southern Colorado
1999 Derrick Gaarder University of Nebraska-Kearney
1999 Casey Hines University of Northwestern Oklahoma
1999 Dennis Mills University of Northern Colorado
1999 Jason Sepanski University of Tampa