Skip Main Navigation

OJC Press Release ID: 3167

Wednesday, May 11, 2022

Otero Nursing Program Graduated 76 Students April 29


The Otero College Nursing Program is proud to announce the graduation of 37 nursing students from the Traditional Program. The last two years have been full of ups and downs, but the students and faculty have persevered, preparing students who are reliable and ready for the workforce.

The pinning ceremony was held in the McDivitt gymnasium April 29 at 11 a.m., and the graduation ceremony was also held in the gym, the next day, April 30 at 10 a.m. The students graduated with their Associates of Applied Science Degree with an emphasis in Nursing and are now eligible to sit for the State Board of Nursing exam to become Registered Nurses. The students were able to give a special thanks to all the faculty, students, families, and friends who have supported them these past two years during the ceremony.

The 2022 traditional RN graduates are: Brittany Armijo, Pueblo; Solome Buba, Aurora; Danielle Calkins, Pueblo; Yamuna Dabadi, Pueblo; Patricia Dango, Colorado Springs; Etana Denta, Aurora; Tanya Depriest, Pueblo West; Ruth Dubale, Aurora; Annastasia Fritz, La Junta; Devan Gaston, Colorado Springs; Danielle Jones, La Junta; Alyssa Jones-Sykes, Colorado Springs; Jung Kim, Colorado Springs; Qiwen Liao, La Junta; Andrea Lovato, Pueblo; Morgan Madril, Avondale; Lauren Mangold, La Veta; Rachelle Martin, Fowler; Michelle Martinez, La Junta; Brittany Miller, La Junta; Irene Mwamba, Colorado Springs; Emily Nameth, Boone; Uzoamaka Chris-Ukelonu, Denver; Angela Padilla, Pueblo; Francis Pinontoan, Pueblo; Marissa Poli, Pueblo; Alicia Romero, Pueblo; Charles Roweth, La Junta; Avana Salazar, Pueblo West; Clarissa Salazar, Pueblo; Selene Santana, Manzanola; Martin Sulkowski, Wellington; Rodel Tacata, Colorado Springs; Birhanu Taye, Aurora; Alyssa Trujillo, Pueblo West; and Jenay Trujillo, Pueblo.

Later that afternoon, the non-traditional student cohort participated in their annual pinning ceremony signifying the completion of their nursing education. This ceremony was held at 4 p.m. in the McDivitt Center Gymnasium. The gym was packed with family, friends and Otero faculty and staff. These students are now eligible to submit an application to the State Board of Nursing for the Registered Nurse State Licensure Exam.

Denise Root, former director of the Otero College of Nursing and founder of the non-traditional nursing program was the keynote speaker for the event. The non-traditional program was designed to accommodate students that need to take classes in the evenings and complete clinical on the weekends. Otero College is the only college in the state that offers this type of program for nursing students. The students of the 2022 non-traditional cohort would like to thank all faculty, friends, and family for all the support throughout this journey.

The 2022 non-traditional RN graduates are: Lawrence Pantoya, Ness Harrell, Zipporah Obiero, Vera Thompson, Krysta Swallow, Dakota Mulske, Toni Pelton, Karli Thurman, Angel Salvo, Lisa Cordova, Linda Cordova, Justis Manchego, Ana Mayorquin, Tucker Abbott, Shannon Romero, Theresa Haro, Lena Webb, Lorrie Henson, Diana Bustamante, Lydia Burt, Shannon Stanko, Laura Quintana, Amber Ramey, Winda Hood, Felicia Perez, Tarina Gonzalez, Ashley Smith, Hope Anderson, Karleigh Bencomo Marquez, Jessica Figueroa, Roxann Quezada, Vanessa Tom, Bridgette Almaraz, Ashleigh Espinoza, Jill Archuletta, Marcie Davis, Sara Halloran, Bridget Mosley, and Seng Woodbine.

Press Release Photo
The Otero College Traditional RN Program graduated 37 students on April 29 in the McDivitt Center Gym.

Press Release Photo
The Otero Non-Traditional RN Program graduated 39 students on April 29, as well.