Skip Main Navigation

OJC Press Release ID: 3161

Tuesday, April 12, 2022

Otero’s Phi Theta Kappa Inducts New Members


Members of Otero College’s Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) academic honorary chapter held an induction for their new members on Feb. 28, 2022.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society was founded in 1918 to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and to provide opportunities for individual growth through honors, leadership, and service programs. PTK is the largest honor society in American higher education. It has inducted more than 3.5 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in 50 United States, U.S. Territories, Canada, Germany, Peru, the British Virgin Islands, Palau, Micronesia, the Marshall Islands, and the United Arab Emirates. PTK is the only honors society for students attending two-year colleges.

Membership in Phi Theta Kappa allows students the opportunity to apply for $90 million in scholarships, receive assistance in transferring to 4-year colleges, and opportunities to travel and see speakers.

The Delta Rho chapter at Otero College extends membership invitations to students who are currently enrolled at Otero College and have a 3.25 GPA.

The 2021-2022 academic year chapter officers are Naomi Rubio, President, Lydia Burt, Vice President of Leadership, Callie Brinley, Vice President of Service, Kaysa Kurtz, Vice President of Fellowship, Heather Broussard, Recording Secretary and Idaly Lopez-Barraza, PR Position. Faculty advisors are Dr. Jeffrey Reed and Dr. James Lind.

Phi Theta Kappa members for the current year are:

Karleigh Bencomo Marquez
Hailey Bender
Tarina Bennett
Jolie Bond
Callie Brinley
Heather Broussard
Lydia Burt
Tanya Depriest
Shayla Erickson
Ashleigh Espinoza
Sara Halloran
Sam Hernandez
Reyna Isenbart
Madison Kelley
Kaysa Kurtz
Isaac Lopez
Idaly Lopez-Barraza
Rachelle Martin
Zipporah Obiero
Shannon Romero
Kendra Roth
Naomi Rubio
Angelina Salvo
Shannon Stanko
Vanessa Tom
Chazz Vigil
Nichole Willhoite
Lacey Yanez

For more information about the PTK chapter at Otero, contact Jeffrey Reed, at 719-384-6807 or James Lind at 719-384-6872 or email or

Press Release Photo
Members of Otero College’s Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) academic honorary chapter held an induction for their new members on Feb. 28, 2022. Pictured are (l-r): Dr. James Lind, faculty sponsor; Nichole Willhoite, Rachelle Martin, Heather Broussard, Kaysa Kurtz, Idaly Lopez-Barraza, Jolie Bond, Naomi Rubio, Callie Brinley, Lydia Burt, Angelina Salvo, and Dr. Jeffrey Reed, faculty sponsor.