Skip Main Navigation

OJC Press Release ID: 3154

Friday, March 11, 2022

Otero Hosts Honor Band and Honor Choirs March 7


On March 7, Otero College hosted the 2022 Ark-Valley Music League’s Jr. High Honor Choir and the High School Honor Band. More than 80 students spent one day practicing for a concert that was held the same evening.

The Arkansas Valley Music Educators League produces this event once a year for students to showcase their talents with other student musicians from around the valley. They also host a flipped event for Jr. High Honor Band and High School Honor Choir.

This year, the Jr. High Honor Choir was directed by Susan Kinnischtzke and accompanied by Sally Kappel. The Chairperson was Kristin Golding-Langston. The High School Honor Band was directed by David Williams and the Chairperson was Jonathan Colson. Matthew Beard of La Junta provided the equipment used and Dr. James Lind of Otero College facilitated the use of the Ed Stafford Theatre.

Members of the 2022 Jr. High Honor Choir were:

Alta-Vista, under Lori Blacker: Xavier Vega-Adams, Sage Ketels, Emma Kilpatrick, Marlie Niemeyer, Piper Reitz, and Mae Shelton
Swink, under Anne Savage: Derek Powell, Sabryna Su, Katara Jaramillo
Cheraw, under Jessica Bay: Liam Bay, Shasity Eddy, Lilianna Farmer, Marlie Gonzales, Adi Miell, Caitlin Provost, Cooper Weaver, Rylee Wyckoff
Children’s Chorale, under Kristin Golding-Langston: Maizie Hoyt, Maranatha Hoyt, Braden Langston
La Junta, under Matthew Beard: Lillie Backes, Audrey Leitner, Carli Avila, Dineah Morena, Isaiah Peralta, Joy Williams
Lamar, under Greg Ludwig: Juanita Balderrama, Katelyn Felan, Morgaine Reed, Emery Sandoval

The 2022 High School Honor Band was comprised of students from seven schools:

Cheraw, under Jessica Bay: Alto Sax, Abigail Provost
Crowley County, under Kevin Beaber: Clarinet: Emily Torgler; Alto Sax: Sarah Ross; Tenor Sax: Bree Rey; Percussion: Jaxon Lambert and Kallie Stovall.
Fowler, under Junior Molina-Nogal: Flute: Trinity Montoya, Klara Sharp, Kristen Sharp; Clarinet: Abrielle Boone, Kaitlyn Campbell, Madison March; Alto Sax: Jedadiah Ballard, Emily Flanscha; Tenor Sax: Olivia Romero; Trumpet: Dominic Amijo, Macy Cash, Hagen McCuistion; Trombone: Cael True; Baritone: Keye Soria; Percussion: Taylor Bennett.
John Mall, under Katie Knutson: Bass Clarinet: Layla Martinez; Baritone: Antonia Martinez; Tuba: Marissa Martinez.
La Junta, under Matthew Beard: Clarinet: Camron Thomas, Joseph Six; Trumpet: Miles Marshall, Pablo Alas; Percussion: Seth Gearhart.
Lamar, under Bob Seay: Flute: Isabelle Mitchell; Clarinet: Genesis Santiago, Bianca Hernandez, Kimberly Johnson, Emilie Holbert; Alto Sax: Osiel Chavez; Bari Sax: Vina Escobar; Trumpet: William Martin, Ezra Flores, Jason Bosque; Trombone: Kaitlyn Mapes, Alexis Sarmiento; Tuba: Gabriel Saldana, Jacob Ramsay; Percussion: Drew Durst.
Rocky Ford, under Jonathan Colson: Flute: Ceniza Casias, Sikiana Baca, Maddy DePriest; Oboe: David Pentlicki; Clarinet: Alexia Sandoval; Alto Sax: Isabel Medina; Bari Sax: Tim Cardenas; Tuba: Aaron Culver.

Press Release Photo
On March 7, Otero College hosted the 2022 Ark-Valley Music League’s High School Honor Band. More than 50 students spent one day practicing for a concert that was held the same evening.

Press Release Photo
The Jr. High Honor Choir had around 30 participants. They performed five pieces.