Skip Main Navigation

OJC Press Release ID: 2980

Monday, December 16, 2019

Phi Theta Kappa Induction Held at OJC


The Otero Junior College chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society recently inducted the following students into full membership: McKensie Avens, Erika Fishkin, Harley Jones, Sabrina Oviedo, Madison Pryor and Katelin Reed all from La Junta; Dana Hoskins and Christina Lyle, Las Animas; Danielle Lamberson and Raina Watkins, Ordway; Angella Gallegos, Pueblo; Hannah Hackney, Erie; Emily Horn, Manzanola and Kayla Kascak, Thornton. Other new members this fall include: Allyson Bartholomew, Kaden Benbow, Avery Bouldin, Samantha Bradley, Cortney Crow, Linsey Goodwin, Jennifer Maher, Nomayi Matale, Kathryn McHargue, Hiroto Motoyama, Sara Noll, Adam Nolte, Andrew Norlie, James Reeder, Emily Robinson, Selene Santana and Linda Valdez. To be eligible for membership, the students were required to have a minimum 3.25 GPA.

Dr. Timothy Alvarez, president of OJC was the featured speaker. During his remarks to chapter members he advised, “When writing the story of your life, don’t let someone else hold the pen.”

Gary Addington, dean of students, served as master of ceremonies. PTK faculty advisor Kaysie Schmidt, organized the event with the assistance of Dr. Jeffrey Reed, co-advisor.

Chapter President, Sam Willet, conducted the induction of new members. Following the ceremony, two recently elected chapter officers were installed. Katelin Reed is the new Recording Officer and McKensie Avens was installed as Vice President of Fellowship. Officers who were elected last semester in addition to Willet, are Jason Sweeney, Vice President of Scholarship, John Amolsch, Vice President of Service, and Mallory Morgan, Vice President of Leadership. Along with Mrs. Schmidt, Morgan represented the chapter at the 2019 Colorado/Wyoming Honors in Action Regional Convention, held in October at Red Rocks Community College in Lakewood, Colo.

The chapter plans to enter contests sponsored by international PTK for their 2019 College Project and their Honors in Action Project. They also plan to nominate Kaysie Schmidt as Distinguished Faculty Advisor of 2019.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society was founded in 1918 to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and to provide opportunities for individual growth through honors, leadership and service programs. PTK is the largest honor society in American higher education. It has inducted more than 3.5 million members in 1,275 chapters in the United States and ten other nations. Phi Theta Kappa offers its members the opportunity to apply for $37 million in scholarships each year.

For questions or more information about Phi Theta Kappa, you can reach Kaysie Schmidt at 719-384-6854.

Press Release Photo
Phi Theta Kappa held the 2019 Fall Induction on Dec. 8. Pictured in the top row are (l-r): Sabrina Oviedo, La Junta; Maddison Pryor, La Junta; Katelin Reed, La Junta; Hannah Hackney, Erie; Danielle Lamberson, Ordway; Harley Jones, La Junta; and McKensie Avens, La Junta. Front row (l-r): Erika Fishkin, La Junta; Kayla Kascak, Thornton; Emily Horn, Manzanola; Dana Hoskins, Las Animas; Angella Gallegos, Pueblo; Christina Lyle, Las Animas; and Raina Watkins, Ordway.