Skip Main Navigation

OJC Press Release ID: 2928

Wednesday, April 24, 2019

OJC to Graduate 43rd Law Enforcement Academy Class


The Otero Junior College Law Enforcement Academy will graduate 12 students who have completed their Basic Peace Officer Training in the Academy’s 43rd class. The ceremony will take place at 10 a.m. on April 30 in the Rizzuto Banquet Room, with refreshments to follow. All friends and family of the graduates are welcome to attend.

According to Miner Blackford, academy director, all graduates have been hired or have agency conditional employment contracts to work as peace officers after completing the academy.

Graduates from the Spring LEA class are as follows:

Jose Juan Farias Barboza, La Junta
Cole Britton, Limon
Tanner Chastain, Las Animas
Chase Hutt, Sterling
Daniel Jupp, Phoenix, Ariz.
Bryar Kirkland, La Junta
Kristian Monohan, Trinidad
Christopher Rouse, Yuma
Jay Snow, Las Animas
Joseph Stephen, Limon
Anthony Wyma, Fairplay
Codey Wynne, Log Lane Village

The OJC Law Enforcement Training Academy is an intensive 15-week, 40-semester-hour training course. The Academy is staffed by veteran certified peace officers and career professionals who teach the latest in law enforcement techniques using state-of-the-art equipment. The course-work offered by the Academy is continually upgraded each semester and is designed to prepare students to take the Colorado POST examination to become Colorado Certified Peace Officers.

Enrollment for the Fall Law Enforcement Training Academy is now open. For more information about the registration process, contact Miner Blackford, academy director at 719-384-6867.


Press Release Photo
The OJC Law Enforcement academy will graduate its 43rd class at 10 a.m. on April 30 in the Rizzuto Banquet Room.

(l-r) front row: Jose Juan Farias Barboza, La Junta; Tanner Chastain, Las Animas and Chase Hutt, Sterling.

(l-r) second row: Anthony Wyma, Fairplay; Codey Wynne, Log Lane Village; Daniel Jupp, Phoenix, Ariz.; Joseph Stephen, Limon and Jay Snow, Las Animas.

(l-r) third row: Christopher Rouse, Yuma; Bryar Kirkland, La Junta; Miner Blackford, Program Director, Kristian Monohan, Trinidad and Cole Britton, Limon.