Skip Main Navigation

OJC Press Release ID: 2797

Thursday, May 17, 2018

OJC’s Phi Theta Kappa Inducted New Members


Otero Junior College's chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society celebrated the end of the academic year on Sunday, April 29. PTK advisor and college math instructor Wayne Beadles welcomed the prospective graduates and initiates and their guests to the celebration. He summarized the chapter's accomplishments this year, then introduced members who would graduate the following Saturday. Each graduate was presented with the gold honors stole of Phi Theta Kappa and asked to tell the group his or her plans for the future.

Honor students who have earned initiation into the chapter then stepped forward to be inducted into the international organization. Officers leading the induction ceremony were Vice President of Service Adriana Smith, Vice President of Membership Christina Mackey and Historian Serena Rife. After the new members had signed the pledge book, everyone enjoyed refreshments, especially the PTK cake baked by member Adi Foxhoven.

Members who graduated last Saturday: Mitchell Apodaca, Lexie Bitter, Andrew Burton, Joshua Collins-Redd, Misti Collins-Redd, Michael Curtis, Shahana Devargas, Estefany Gonzalez, Adalida Foxhoven, Timothy Galindo, Marlene Garcia, Mark Hady, Joshua Harris, Tony Harviston, Mackenzie King, Shelby Koether, Alyssa Lovato, Angela Leonard, Christina Mackey, Scott McGuane, Dillon Morlan, Jacob Ornelas, Jung Park, Sara Reyher, Mary Rice, Serena Rife, Adriana Smith, Kayla Valdez, Clayton West, Sam Willett, John Woodruff and Kohyo Yamada.

To be eligible for membership, students earned a 3.5 or higher grade point average last term, have at least a 3.25 GPA overall, and have completed at least 12 credits at OJC. Newly-initiated full members in the organization include Joshua Collins-Redd, Misti Collins-Redd, Noah Dohm, Joseph Eubank, Adalida Foxhoven, Marlene Garcia, Estefany Gonzalez, Joshua Harris, MacKenzie King, Scott McGuane, Jacob Ornelas, Cederic Quintana, Gisselle Rocha, Andrew Salazar, Sam Willett and Kohyo Yamada.

Advisors of the chapter are Wayne Beadles, Kaysie Schmidt, and Judy Hensley. A few of the group's accomplishments during the 2017-18 academic year were: having four members on the All-Colorado Academic Team: Serena Rife, Kayla Valdez, Angela Leonard and Misti Collins-Redd; these students were also nominated to the All USA Academic Team. The chapter completed the OJC Spotlight College Project. They completed their Honors in Action Project in coordination with Bent's Old Fort and the Immersive Education Initiative at Boston College. Vice President of Honors Andrew Burton was named a Distinguished Chapter Officer in the Colorado/Wyoming Region. The group sold over 40 bricks for the Foundation Wall. They were named a Four Star Chapter by International PTK

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society was founded in 1918 to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and to provide opportunities for individual growth through honors, leadership and service programs. PTK is the largest honor society in American higher education. It has more than 2.5 million members and 1,275 chapters in all 50 United States, U.S. Territories, and eight other countries world-wide.

For more information on Phi Theta Kappa contact Kaysie Schmidt at


Press Release Photo
New initiates to PTK Honors Society, (l-r): Front row: Andrew Salazar, Koyho Yamada, Cedric Quintana, MacKenzie King, Gisselle Rocha, Marlene Garcia, Adalida J. Foxhoven, Joshua S. Harris, Estefany M. Gonzalez, Scott McGuane. Second Row: Joseph H. Eubank, Jacob R. Ornelas, Sam Willett, Noah Dohm, Misti Collins-Redd, Joshua Collins-Redd.