Skip Main Navigation

OJC Press Release ID: 2789

Wednesday, May 2, 2018

OJC Nurse Pinning to be Held May 4


The Otero Junior College Nursing Program is proud to announce the graduating class of 2018. OJC will honor 12 nursing graduates during a nurse pinning ceremony on May 4 at 6:30 p.m. in the Ed Stafford Theatre. The graduates will receive Associate of Applied Science degrees in nursing during commencement ceremonies the following morning on May 5 starting at 10 a.m. in the McDivitt Center gym.

The Associate of Applied Science in nursing prepares students for practice as a registered nurse. These graduates were enrolled in the Traditional Nursing Program. This full-time program allows students to attend classes five days a week. The full-time degree program is designed to be completed in two years. Most students spend one or two semesters completing their general academic requirements before applying to the nursing program. Upon graduation, students will be eligible to submit an application to the State Board of Nursing for the Registered Nurse State Licensure Examination. The other option for nursing students is to enroll in the Nights Evening and Weekend (NEW) program, where they attend classes on Tuesday and Thursday nights and do their clinical experience on the weekends.

Students who will receive Associate of Applied Science degrees in nursing include: Adam Boothroyd, Ke’a’au, Hawaii; Cheyenne Day, Ordway; Sophia Cordova, Pueblo West; Kaylee Delao, Pueblo; Jacqueline Doolittle, Pueblo; Alexandra Ferner, Colorado Springs; Dillon Hartley, San Antonio; Cindy Madril, Pueblo; Lily Pommier, La Junta; Kylee Provost, Avondale; Josie Salas, Pueblo; Shelly Tappen, Colorado Springs.

For more information on the nursing program at OJC contact Nursing Director Diane McElroy at 719-384-6899 or


Press Release Photo
Bottom row: (l-r) Jacqueline Doolittle second row: Jaclynn Johnson (Instructor), Alexandra Ferner, and Josie Salas third row: Kaylee Delao, Sophia Cordova, Cindy Madril, Cheyenne Day, and Diane McElroy (Director of Nursing) fourth row: Christie Jackson (Instructor), Shelly Tappen, Lily Pommier, Kylee Provost, Tejana Cox (Instructor), and Helen Haley (Instructor) fifth row: Dillon Hartley and Adam Boothroyd.