Skip Main Navigation

OJC Press Release ID: 2671

Monday, June 5, 2017

OJC Non-Traditional AAS nursing student pinning

OJC’s Non-Traditional Evening and Weekends (NEW) program students will hold their pinning ceremony on June 9 at 6 p.m. in the Ed Stafford Theater in the Humanities Center at Otero Junior College. The graduates have completed Associate of Applied Science degrees in nursing.

The Associate of Applied Science in nursing program prepares students for practice as a registered nurse. Otero Junior College’s Non-traditional Evening and Weekend Nursing program is designed to provide students a means to maintain employment and home lives while completing a nursing program.

Students in this program attended Tuesday and Thursday evening classes and up to 10 weekends per semester to meet all the requirements of their program. Most students also spend one or two semesters completing their general academic requirements before applying to the nursing program.

These students will now be eligible to submit an application to the State Board of Nursing for the Registered Nurse State Licensure Examination.

The 2017 graduates of the program, who have received their Associate of Applied Science degree in nursing are: Sheree Book, Eddie Chavira, Rachel Desselle, Cheyanne Foeppel, Leann Gentry, Sarah Grabenc, Lisa Gruber, Kyoung Han, Chi-Ann Johnson, Michelle Johnson, Jessica Koster, Rikkilee Martinez, Jen McMillan, Samantha McNerney, Natalya Miller, Judith Palmer, Marisha Pearson, Alyssa Piper, Taylor Rolen, Matt Quedot, Monique Santiago and Amelia Valdez.

The pinning ceremony is a time-honored nursing school tradition; signifying the official initiation into the brotherhood and sisterhood of nursing. The pinning ceremony is open to the public.

OJC congratulates them on their accomplishments and wishes them well in their future endeavors.

Press Release Photo
2017 Non Traditional AAS Class: Bottom row: Alyssa Piper, Leann Gentry, Marisha Pearson, Samantha McNerney, Taylor Rolen, Kyoung Han, Sarah Grabenc and Amelia Valdez; 2nd row: Rachel Desselle, Monique Santiago, Jen McMillan, Cheyanne Foeppel, Sheree Book, Rikkilee Martinez and Jessica Koster; 3rd row: Eddie Chavira, Matt Quedot, Natalya Miller, Lisa Gruber and Michelle Johnson; 4th row: Judith Palmer and Chi-Ann Johnson. Top row: Tejana Cox-faculty, Christie Jackson-faculty and Helen Haley-faculty.