Skip Main Navigation

OJC Press Release ID: 2652

Monday, April 24, 2017

OJC Traditional RN Pinning to be held April 28

The Otero Junior College Nursing Program is proud to announce the Registered Nurse Class of 2017, Traditional program class. OJC will honor 17 nursing graduates during Nurse Pinning ceremonies on April 28 at 6:30 p.m. in the Ed Stafford Theatre.

The graduates will receive Associate of Applied Science degrees in nursing during commencement ceremonies the following morning on April 29 starting at 10 a.m. in the McDivitt Center gym.

The Associate of Applied Science in nursing program prepares students for practice as a registered nurse. The full-time degree program is designed to be completed in two years. Most students spend one or two semesters completing their general academic requirements before applying to the nursing program. Upon graduation, students will be eligible to submit an application to the State Board of Nursing for the Registered Nurse State Licensure Examination.

Students who will receive Associate of Applied Science degrees in nursing include:
Charish Agena, Alexandra Diaz-Apodaca, Preston Archer, Stephanie Brehm, Karley Corsentino, Mika Fields,  Kimber Gonzales, Dora Hall, Caitlyn Johnson-Beauchamp, Missy Kuhn, Felicity Laine, Shamim Namakula, Carmelo Papa, Cassandra Rapp, Kalisha Reilly, Ricci Stwalley and Dawnia Tinsman.

The class of 2017 would like to thank their families, friends and instructors for supporting them through this time. Without them, none of this would have been possible.

Those unable to attend the graduation ceremony on April 29 can log onto the OJC website at to view the webcast of the ceremony.

Press Release Photo
Bottom Row: (l-r) Felicity Laine, Cassandra Rapp, Dawnia Tinsman, Charish Agena, Alexandra Diaz-Apodaca. Kimber Gonzales, Stephanie Brehm and Kalisha Reilly; Second Row: Shamim Namakula, Carmelo Papa, Ricci Stwalley, Missy Kuhn, Caitlyn Johnson-Beachamp, Dora Hall and Karley Corsentino. Back Row: Chris Wooters-Faculty, Tejana Cox-Faculty, Christie Jackson Faculty and Diane McElroy Director of Nursing and Allied Health; not pictured: Mika Fields and Preston Archer.