Skip Main Navigation

OJC Press Release ID: 2607

Monday, January 16, 2017

VanEgmond E.E. Bruegel Scholar for 2016-17

Kendall VanEgmond, a 2015 graduate of Las Animas High School, was named as recipient of the E. E. Bruegel Memorial Scholarship for the 2016-17 academic year at Otero Junior College.  This award is granted only to Las Animas High School graduates and is intended to assist with tuition and other college-related expenses.

VanEgmond participated in a variety of activities including athletics, True Blue, Youth Task Force and square dancing while attending LAHS. She was honored as a member of the National Honor Society and as Bent County Fair queen, and was a Santa Fe Trail Day Queen candidate.

She attended Otero Junior College in fall 2016 to complete general education classes and has transferred to Pueblo Community College to complete her prerequisite classes, attend classes for a phlebotomy certificate and apply for the dental hygiene program.  If accepted, she will begin dental hygiene classes in the fall of 2017.

Mr. E. E. Bruegel was a former principal of Bent County High School (BCHS).  He was an exceptionally kind and gentle man who cared about, supported and encouraged the students and staff of BCHS throughout their academic endeavors.  He was known for his positivity and fairness and had excellent rapport with the community. 

Judy Gholson Tigner, Rawlins WY, and Karen Hickey, Denver, originated the E.E. Bruegel Memorial Scholarship in the fall of 2008.  Ann Bruegel Richards, La Junta, made a strong financial contribution in the first three years to help get the scholarship fund started. Beverly Hulse Quarles of Roy, Utah, joined Tigner and Hickey as another scholarship sponsor in 2009.  These three continued to support the scholarship over the past six years. Prowers S. (Buck) and Judy Hudnall, Chino Calif., became scholarship sponsors in 2016.  In 2017, Nancy Billings Gerlock, Pueblo, joined the group and Richards began contributing again.

Press Release Photo
Kendall VanEgmond, 2015 graduate of Las Animas High School, is the 2016 recipient of the E.E. Bruegel Memorial Scholarship. Photo credit: Boone Photographers.