Skip Main Navigation

OJC Press Release ID: 2517

Monday, May 16, 2016

OJC celebrates Phi Theta Kappa honor society new inductees/ graduates

Otero Junior College’s Delta Rho chapter of Phi Theta Kappa inducted 23 new members on April 25. Chapter president Maegan Yoder welcomed the inductees and guests and gave a brief history of the international honor society, which is the only honor society for two-year colleges.  She gave an overview of many of the chapters’ accomplishments throughout the year and wished graduates success as they moved forward.

Yoder introduced the 2015-16 officers: President, Meagan Yoder; Vice President of Scholarship/Honors, Callie Davidson; Vice President of Service, Krista Schleich; Vice President of Membership/Fellowship, Cassie Mauer; Secretary, Chloe Nolan; and Historian, Adriana Coniker.

Advisor Wayne Beadles recognized the accomplishments of the chapter at the Regional and International Levels.  Delta Rho was recognized as a Five – Star Chapter the highest achievement a chapter can reach.  The officer team was recognized as a Distinguished Officer team at the Colorado/Wyoming Region, along with President Maegan Yoder as a Distinguished Officer and member Larabeth Vanek as Distinguished Member both at regional level and international level. Otero Junior College President Jim Rizzuto was recognized with the Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction, a prestigious Phi Theta Kappa Award for College Presidents that support local chapters.   Callie Davidson also served as a Colorado Regional Vice President the entire 2015-16 school year.   

Inductees were: Aspen Atkins, Ricky Begay, Malena Berchot, Ashley Garcia, Samantha Garcia, Anthony Garner, Jayde Hagerman, Israel Harris, Jessica Koster, Sharayah Lehnert, Samantha Mahoney, Colby Massey, Nicolas Martinez Orozco, Diana Mirakhor, Shelby Patterson, Elija Ostin, Annie Richey, Samantha Rodriguez, Jared Rodriguez, Daniel Ross, Mary Sand, Amelia Valdez and Colton Wardle.

Graduates include: Charish Agena, Aspen Atkins, Rebecca Barrett, Ricky Begay, Savannah Bernal, Amanda Britton, Devin Camacho, Adriana Coniker, Callie Davidson, Kelsey England, Joselyna Gallegos, Jesus Garcia, Anthony Garner, Kyrah Guerin, Bruce Hall, Israel Harris, Caitlin Johnson, Ashley Jordan, Jessica Koster, Samantha Kouns, Sharayah Lehnert, Paige Lindbloom, Evan Maecker, Elizabeth Manfredi, Thomas Martinez, Nicolas Martinez Orozco, Colby Massey, Josephine Matlick, Cassandra Maurer, Diana Mirakhor, Chloe Nolan, Christianah Olaleye, Judith Palmer, Shelby Patterson, Stetson Raines, Annie Richey, Jared Rodriguez, Chad Russell, Jacob Sandoval, Krista Schleich, Yolanda Serna, Lindsey Tatum, Larabeth Vanek, Colton    Wardle, Danielle Wilson, Whitney Wilson and Maegan Yoder.

Advisors are Wayne Beadles, OJC math faculty; Judy Hensley, Emeritus psychology faculty; and Sue Keefer, OJC Director of Library and Learning Resources.

Established by Missouri two-year college presidents in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming.  Today, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 2.5 million members and 1,275 chapters located in 50 United States, U.S. Territories, Canada, Germany, Peru, the British Virgin Islands, the Republic of Palau, the Federated States of Micronesia, the Republic of the Marshall Islands and the United Arab Emirates.  In 1929, the American Association of Community Colleges recognized Phi Theta Kappa as the official honor society for two-year colleges.  The Delta Rho chapter was established in 1943.

Press Release Photo